Vice-President Academic

Cordelia Snowdon

Program: Policy Studies (minor in Social Innovation and Nonprofit Management)

Phone: (403) 440-6402



Cordelia Snowdon is your Vice-President Academic at SAMRU. She has been a student at MRU since 2013 and is in the Bachelor of Arts degree program with a major in Policy Studies and a minor in Social Innovation and Nonprofit Management. Cordelia also completed the MRU Social Work Diploma in 2015.

Cordelia has been involved on campus in many volunteer roles and has been an advocate for academic issues on many committees. Prior to being elected as VPA, Cordelia was a member of the Vice-President Academic Advisory Committee (VPAAC), a governor of the Student Governing Board of SAMRU’s, the President of the Students’ Distress Centre Club, and member of the Peer to Peer Mental Health Program. Through her role on VPAAC, Cordelia has represented students on MRU’s General Faculties Council, Academic Program and Priorities Committee, and the Academic Plan Steering Committee.

Cordelia’s goals for this year include increasing the use of free alternatives to expensive textbooks, restricting the use of mandatory supplementary fees and resources like paid-quizzes, and ensuring we keep small class sizes and personalized learning. Cordelia also plans to increase the visibility of the work of the VP Academic by providing regular updates to students on the issues that matter to them.

SAMRU Committees

  • Representation Executive Council
  • Representation, Events, Advocacy, and Lobbying Committee
  • Vice-President Academic Advisory Committee

MRU Committees

  • Academic Plan Steering Committee
  • Academic Program and Priorities Committee (GFC)
  • Academic Scheduling Committee
  • Academic Standards Committee (GFC)
  • Animal Care Committee
  • Arts Faculty Council
  • Budget Advisory Committee
  • Bylaws and Striking Committee (GFC)
  • Executive Committee (GFC)
  • General Faculties Council
  • Library Faculty Council
  • Library Standing Committee
  • Requirement-to-Withdraw Appeals Committee
  • Science and Technology Faculty Council
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery Requirement-to-Withdraw-from-program Appeals Committee
  • Student Centre Liaison Committee
  • Task Force on Student Evaluation of Learning
  • Teaching and Learning Faculty Council
  • Teaching and Learning Standing Committee (GFC)

External Committees

  • Council of Alberta University Students
  • MRFA/MRSA Coalition