Archived: Congratulations to our E-Awards Winners!

Categories: Uncategorised


This post has been archived and may contain outdated information.
Please contact us if you have any questions about the correctness of this post!

Each year, SAMRU hosts the E-Awards to honour students who have made a difference on campus and beyond. With a focus on excellence, enrichment and endeavour, the E-Awards honour students who combine community involvement with academic commitment, engaging fully in the student experience.

Demonstrating enthusiasm and creativity – not to mention time-management skills – these students are volunteers, innovators and role models. “I have one word for all the students who applied: wow,” says Addison Asuchak, SAMRU Vice-President Student University Affairs. “It’s incredible to see what students are accomplishing on this campus. There were so many deserving applicants.”

SAMRU’s E-Awards also recognize exceptional faculty and staff. This year, we gave away two Teaching Excellence Awards and two Champion Awards, celebrating student-nominated instructors who have made a difference in their students’ lives.

Congratulations to all the applicants and winners!

The winners of our 2013 E-Awards are:

Inspiring Culture Award – Andrew Duran
Deanna Cardinal Memorial Award – Glenna Cardinal
Beyond Disabilities Award – Zachary Cox
Reflector Award – Leanne Jeffrey
Excellence in Community Service Club Award – Mount Royal Tea Society
Excellence in Member Services Club Award – Computer Information Systems Students’ Society
Teaching Excellence Awards – Dr. Tracy Nielsen, Dr. Carol Armstrong
Champion Awards – Dr. Shane Gannon, Dr. Irene Shankar
Campus Sport and Wellness Award – Dani Gariepy
Citizenship Award – Catharine Smart
Green Earth Award – Cordelia Snowdon
Committed Learner Award – Henok Gebreyesus
Experiential Studies Award – Sabrina Lohmann
Part Time Studies Award – Julia Koziell
Outstanding Councillor of the Year – Jesse Beaudin
Bronze Awards – Rhyan Pietromonaco, Catharine Smart
Silver Awards – Tristan Smyth, Zachary Cox
Gold Award – Nicole MacInnis
Outstanding Student of the Year – Famira Racy

Each year, the Students’ Association gives away more than $20,000 in awards and bursaries. Thank you to our generous sponsors their contributions to the E-Awards!

For more information on this year’s winners, or to apply for next year’s awards, please visit