Vice-President Academic

Nathan Lawley

Program: Bachelor of Arts

Phone: (403) 440-6402



Nathan is your Vice-President Academic 2019-2020 for SAMRU. Nathan is currently studying in the Bachelor of Arts, English program with a minor in Women and Gender Studies.

Nathan has been a volunteer at SAMRU since becoming a student at MRU in 2014. He has held roles at SAMRU that includes Peer Support Volunteer, Pride Centre Volunteer, Room Mentor, and member of the Relationships, Identity, and Sex Planning and Implementation Committee (RISPIC). He was also a Governor on SAMRU’s Student Governing Board and served as the Interim Speaker on the Board. Prior to being elected as VP Academic, Nathan represented students through the Vice-President Academic Advisory Committee (VPAAC) and worked as the Assistant Vice-President Academic. Outside of MRU, Nathan has worked at the Calgary Public Library for 10 years and plays Pokémon GO in his off-time. He is also known for showing you pictures of his cat at opportune moments.

Nathan’s main advocacy points this year will include academic indigenization, open educational resources, and academic accommodations.

SAMRU Committees

  • Representation Executive Council
  • Representation, Events, Advocacy, and Lobbying Committee
  • Vice-President Academic Advisory Committee

MRU Committees

  • Academic Plan Implementation Committee
  • Academic Program and Priorities Committee
  • Academic Standards Committee
  • Animal Care Committee
  • Arts Faculty Council
  • Budget and Finance Advisory Committee
  • Business and Communication Studies Faculty Council
  • Bylaws and Striking Committee
  • Executive Committee of General Faculties Council
  • General Faculties Council
  • Health, Community and Education Faculty Council
  • Human Research Ethics Board
  • Library Faculty Council
  • Library Standing Committee
  • MRU Coalition (MRFA/MRSA)
  • Requirement-to-Withdraw Appeals Committee
  • Research and Scholarship Standing Committee
  • Science and Technology Faculty Council
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery Requirement-to-Withdraw-from-program Appeals Committee
  • Student Awards Committee
  • Teaching and Learning Faculty Council
  • Teaching and Learning Standing Committee